I’m totally stealing this idea from Kristie over on Not Quite What I Had Planned but it made me think and look to see what I had in the way of spam.

For those not very techno-savvy, “spam” is “junk mail” of the internet. Links and ads that you really don’t want to read, or want your readers to read, but it’s still there, trying to get in anywhere. In email you’ll usually get stuff about making your penis larger or where you can buy certain drugs – if you have a good spam filter on your email, it’ll all be in your spam box. If you have a stinky spam filter,well, you’ll be receiving a lot of spam. WordPress, which is the site that hosts this blog,  has a very good built-in spam filter called Askimet that has trapped every piece of spam I’ve gotten so far. The spam is written as comments to my entries but between Askimet catching them and my choosing to screen comments before they’re posted, even if one did get past Askimet, y’all would never see it anyway. But I do…they’re all in the “back room” of my blog. Some of them are pretty low key…”I agree with everything you said,” “That is a great story, thanks!”…it’s their attached links that they want you to click on. But some of them are really fun in a bizarre sort of way. Take a look…

Japan ’05: The day we toured Tokyo with Joe’s Japanese friends – “I was reading something else about this on another blog. Interesting. Your linear perspective on it is diametrically opposed to what I read earlier. I am still mulling over the various points of view, but I’m inclined to a great extent toward yours. And irrespective, that’s what is so superb about modern-day democracy and the marketplace of thoughts online.” Pretty good for someone who wasn’t there and never met anyone involved, huh?

England ’06: Arriving in London, our hotel, Sir John Soane Museum – “The free energy devices have been suppressed by the corporate world, because such devices, would allow people to create their own energy for free, which would ultimately shut down the big energy corporations, because people won’t need to pay anymore for electricity to fill their pockets.” Right. And they’ve developed the cure for cancer too but the drug companies are keeping it a secret.

My Thoughts on Gay Marriage – “Jaka diete polecacie najbardziej?” Anyone here understand…Polish, I think? Anyone? Anyone? Bueller? No? Well, no worries…I got it translated. “What diet do you recommend most?” Considering the topic of the blog, it doesn’t make much sense in Polish OR English.

Schlitterbahn ’08 – “Will any one be in a position to smell a smoke smell on me?” and Schlitterbahn ’07 – “Will it be fine to use on sensitive teeth?” I thought these were the non-sequitors of all non-sequitors. They were not from the same poster, by the way.

Japan ’05: Nagoya, Hakone – “Sam Congdon is the offshore promoter that has scammed people in the past and provided client records to the IRS and U.S. Senate Finance Committee in exchange for immunity. His companies, Rockford Global Solutions and Equity Development Group are still operating so do not get involved with these companies unless you want trouble with legal authorities or to do jail time.” Y’know, that’s probably not so much of a problem in Nagoya or Hakone, but thanks for the tip.

I’ve read on other peoples’ blogs that they sometimes get some readers who have done Google or WordPress searches with a variety of really weird terms. I haven’t been so lucky, except for the “Tokyo DisneySea Rigatoni” one (someone did a search for “prolapsed uterus” too and found my entry about my patient who had one, but even that I could see. But why would anyone be looking up anything about Rigatoni and Tokyo DisneySea???)

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

For those of you who have kept up with my patient stories, I found out the other day that “Barry” was sent back to the hospital the day after I discharged him and only managed to stay home a for a few days before he was sent back because of a high fever. I’d appreciate if you kept him in your thoughts – he’s the epitome of bad things happening to good people.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

As a follow-up to Dobby and her moving her mats all over the place, these pictures were taken the day after that entry was published, about an hour apart.

Fortunately, she’s pretty much left her mats alone for the past 4 or 5 days now I caught her starting to play with/move one of them on two occasions but a quick “Leave It” stopped her in her tracks.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

Joe was putting an old jacket in our “Give to Charity” bag when he felt something crunchy in the pocket. He looked inside and found some sucking candy from a local chain Italian restaurant.  We had gone there once but didn’t like so we never went back. The one time we went? January 2001, on Joe’s first night as a Florida resident. Yeah, I guess he hadn’t worn the jacket in a while.

