In my last entry I discussed my feelings about celebrities and being famous. Today I’ll talk about my own “fame”.

I bet you didn’t know I was famous. Well, maybe nearly famous. Or perhaps just a little famous. OK, a friend of mine who has a few CD recordings under her belt, wanted to make a music video a few years ago and needed some backup singers. Who better to ask than the people in your chorus (what can I say…we worked cheap. For free, actually. Just give us an opportunity to get together and sing and we’re there. Providing drinks and snacks are just icing on the cake). We filmed the video in late 2007 and it was released about 5 or 6 months later. Take a look…

I’m the little one with the gray hair in the blue aloha shirt with the Santa Clauses on it (you can see me at 0:51, 1:29, 1:41 and 3:24).

That was not my first foray into being famous, though. Oh no, no, no, no, no! When I was 4, I drew a picture and sent it to Romper Room. Several weeks later, Miss Louise showed it on TV. It was the only time she ever said my name on the show because lord knows she never, ever saw me in her Magic Mirror.

When I was in my late teens, I was a volunteer for the March of Dimes, which earned me a spot, not only as a chaperone to lead the celebrities from the lobby to the green room (I remember accompanying Bruce Jenner (total asshat – VERY full of himself), Sonia Manzano (“Maria” from Sesame Street – SUCH a sweet lady!), Rene Auberjonois (Benson, Star Trek: Deep Space Nine, Boston Legal, etc.) and Glenn Scarpelli (“Alex” on One Day At A Time), but also to answer phones ON TELEVISION…albeit at 3 o’clock in the morning. My parents saw me. However we didn’t have a VCR yet so the moment was lost forever. Pity.

I called a local radio station a handful of times when I was in my early-20’s (for those of you from the NY tri-state area: “Wild” Bill Grundfest’s show on WNBC-AM.), made it on the air and, in retrospect, made a total fool of myself, LOL! I think I still have an audiotape of my “appearances” somewhere…those will NEVER see the light of day! I also had several “Letters to the Editors” published around that time frame – again, for really, REALLY stupid stuff. Ah, 20/20 hindsight…

I could be seen in the studio audience for several TV shows in the late 1980’s and early 1990’s but the best (or worst?) of all was my participation in the Don Kirshner Rock Awards. It was an infomercial to sell a set of music CDs, hosted by Davy Jones, of the Monkees fame. They needed a studio audience dressed as if they were going to a fancy award show and, as a big Monkees fan at the time, I was one of the people who was asked to participate. So I drove to Philadelphia in a swanky and extraordinarily uncomfortable strapless black dress, sat in the audience with a few hundred other geeks and we clapped and cheered our little hearts out whenever the director told us to. I may or may not still have a videotape of the entire show, but did find this little bit of information about the experience.

My “celebrity status” has some lean years after that; occasionally you could see the top of my head in a news broadcast and that was about it. But when the entire Disney company was going to hell in a hand basket (personally, I think it still is but now it’s more because of more personal reasons) and “SaveDisney dot Com” (led by the late Roy Disney, nephew of Walt) was at its height, the stockholders were going to vote on whether or not to keep its CEO, Michael Eisner. The stockholders’ meeting was in Minneapolis in the winter of 2004 (it was during the time frame that Disney held their stockholders’ meetings in the most far off and/or climatically challenging places in the country, in an attempt to keep as many stockholders away as possible make the meetings accessible to ALL stockholders, not just ones who lived in the big cities). As it happened, a camera crew from our local “big” news station was on the same plane as Joe and I and they asked to take statements from both of us. Joe was the eloquent speaker that he always is – he knew the facts and was happy to share his opinion on them; I was much less prepared, mainly because I cared much more about going to Mall of American than the actual meeting. And who got on TV? Me. Six words. “I’m not voting for Mr. Eisner.” (ahem…neither did a lot of other people, LOL!)

So yeah, I’ve been “in the media,” if you will, a few times. Shrug. It was fun. Certainly not life-altering; it’s not like my head swelled or anything.  But it’s been fun…a change from the ordinary.

