I received a call on my cell phone yesterday afternoon. It was from my area code but I didn’t recognize the number. Spam calls are usually marked “unknown” or have a different area code than mine so I decided to pick it up. This is the conversation I had:

Sharon: “Hello, this is Sharon.”

Caller: “Hi, is this Sharon?”

Sharon: “Yes it is. How can I help you?”

Caller: “You got me a potty seat to put over my toilet and I don’t need it anymore.”

Sharon (totally befuddled): “Ummm…OooooooK. Uhhh…with whom am I speaking?”

Caller: “Peter Pooly” (not his real name)

Sharon (remembers the name – it’s an ex-patient of mine that I discharged 2 or 3 months ago): “Oh. (pause.) Hi!”

Caller: “Hi. You see, I have this potty seat from you and I don’t need anymore. What should I do with it?”

Sharon: (thinking ‘WTF?’ but remaining professional on the phone) “Well sir, I would recommend you just put it in the attic or garage because you never know when you might need it again and once Medicare has paid for a potty seat they won’t pay for another one for 5 years.”

Caller: “OK, I’ll do that, then. I just didn’t know if maybe you wanted it back or something.”

Sharon: “No sir, we don’t take them back. Neither would the company that gave it to you because, well, it’s essentially a toilet seat and those things aren’t returnable because of hygiene laws.”

Call: “I understand. Well, thank-you. I’m sorry to bother you.”

Sharon: “No bother at all, Mr. Pooly.”

Y’know, I’ve been an Occupational Therapist for over 21 years now and have never, ever had a phone conversation anything like that before. Something new every day!

