I like to think of myself as a good person. I really don’t think you can spend 20+ years of your career helping sick and injured people and not be a good person at heart but there’s plenty of not-working time where I think I try to do my best to “do unto others” unless you piss me off one too many times.

Several years ago, I was in the parking lot of a supermarket and found a credit card on the ground, not far from my car. Their toll-free number was on the back so I called them to let them know I found it and to find out what steps they, or would they like me to take next. I will say that they certainly did not make such a “good will gesture” easy – I was on hold for over 30 minutes. But I know I did the right thing, so it was OK. Since I had my iPhone with me, I also used the online White Pages to look up the phone number of the person whose card it was. I called their house and got an answering machine – it sounded like an elderly lady. I left a message, explaining I had found the card and had made the credit card company aware, so for her to please not worry that someone would be trying to use the card without her authorization. I left my phone number in case she had any questions, but she never called me back.

Fast forward to last night. Joe and I were walking Dobby and while on the street around the corner from us, I happened to look down and I saw the back of what looked like an “official” looking card. I picked it up, turned it over and saw it was someone’s drivers license. Bad, BAD thing to lose in this day and age. As it turned out, the address was of someone who just lived a few houses away so we walked up to their house to give it back. Thing is, it was almost midnight – kind of too late to ring the doorbell. So I left it on their front porch, deliberately placing so it couldn’t be seen from the street but they would be able to see it when they left the house. Another good deed done.

While walking Dobby this morning, I saw a car leaving the driveway of Lost Drivers License Lady’s house so as she started to pass me by, I motioned for her to stop. She rolled down the window and I asked if she had found her driver’s license. She had, and was it me who put it there? Yes. She thanked me and explained that she had put her pocketbook up on the roof of the car to strap her kids into their car seats, forgot about the bag and drove off. Oh, and look, there was another one of her credit cards on the ground too! The thing was, she was so nonchalant about the whole thing – her driver’s license and credit cards were gone, oh well. Personally, I would never be like that, not only in the attitude about it happening (hello, ID theft!), but also about leaving my pocketbook on the roof of my car in the first place.

After all, I can’t reach the roof of my car. 😉

