Yeah, I know it’s a little early but as far as I’m concerned, it’s the Holiday Season, which means virtually everyone who does virtually anything with music has things to do. Lots of things. Even amateur singing groups are not an exception so if I can briefly toot the horn of my choir right now:

NOVEMBER 20th (Saturday): The Christian Choral Society, my choir that is based out of Florida Christian College (FCC) will be singing under the direction of Dirk Donahue (of Walt Disney World’s “Dapper Dans” and “Voices of Liberty” fame) at the annual Festival of Trees event this Friday, November 20th. The event lasts a good portion of the day but FCC will be singing from 3pm to 3:30pm. The event is held at Loch Haven Park, which is just north of Downtown Orlando and offers music to hear, Christmas decorations to see, gingerbread to smell and taste, the holiday spirit to feel and lots of Christmasy goodness to purchase. The proceeds benefit the Orlando Museum of Art. More info can be found if you click here.

DECEMBER 3rd (Friday): I will again join my Christian Choral Society friends to take part in “Night of Noel,” an annual event held in the main auditorium of Florida Christian College, in Kissimmee. Dirk will once again conduct us as we sing a mixture of classical and standard Christmas songs. The show runs from 7pm to 9pm, tickets are $10 each and admission includes a holiday dessert buffet. Seating is limited and purchasing tickets in advance is recommended. More information can be found if you click here.

DECEMBER 26th (Saturday): I will join FCC to sing in Epcot’s Candlelight Processional. This annual event, which features a guest narrator who re-tells The Christmas Story (as opposed to “A Christmas Story”. There are no leg lamps or Red Ryder BB guns in this production. Pity.) with a background chorus of The Voices of Liberty, guest choruses from around the country (occasionally from around the world) and a small amateur choir composed of Disney employees, is held at the American Gardens Theatre of the American Adventure Pavilion in World Showcase. The guest narrator that day is Edward James Olmos and our showtimes will be 6:45pm and 8:15pm. More information about Candlelight Processional can be found if you click here.

I was recently offered the opportunity to quit Sing Live USA and receive a full refund for their current semester, so the above are all I have scheduled for this season. However next year I suspect I’ll have significantly more holiday singing opportunities, as Joe and I will be a part of the newly-formed Central Florida Community Choir (CFCC). I’m sure I’ll be talking more about CFCC as time goes on, but so far from everything we’ve seen and heard, it really looks like everything we’ve been missing from a community chorus for a long while, along with some opportunities that we’ve only dreamed of. Plus, based on all of their advanced planning and the people with whom they’re surrounding themselves, they really seem to have their act together – what more could one ask for? We’re very excited about it!

May I be the first to wish you and yours a happy and healthy holiday season!

