Last Monday was the kickoff of our new choir and all I can say is WOW! As I’ve watched the buildup of Central Florida Community Choir since October or so, I’ve seen a bezillion ways, big and small, of how things have been done “right”. Maybe one of these days I’ll sit down and write all of the comparisons but for right now I see what the co-directors/co-founders, Joshua and Jonathan do and say and just shake my head in delight at how it’s all a 180° difference from what I had grown accustomed to. It’s just wonderful to deal with people who communicate, take responsibility and take others’ thoughts and feelings into consideration. They aren’t afraid to delegate big chunks of work so they can focus on what they do best. It’s so obvious that in their minds it’s not about them or the money – it’s about the choir. It’s a labor of love. It’s wonderful.

But don’t take my word for it.

With Joshua & Jonathan’s permission, I audio taped the Kickoff on February 7th (I was doing it for a friend who is signed up but wasn’t able to attend that first night). The first half of the evening is not included here because some of it is stuff where “what’s said in rehearsal stays in rehearsal” – it was a review of CFCC’s plans and goals, an introduction of CFCC’s Board of Directors, accompanist, Section Leaders and Assistant Music Directors, and the Show Directors (they have Show Directors! And one of ’em directs “Encore!” at Disney!) described their vision for our concert in May (subject to change 16,000 times between now and then because that’s how things like that work but hey, it’s better than deciding the play list the day of the show. Just sayin’ ;-)). Granted, it’s not the best recording in the world – some of it is pretty quiet, some of it distorted because my settings weren’t great for a large choir and it’s kind of soprano-heavy since the recorder was right next to me.  But if you listen to the whole recording, you can hear the nearly-150 voices (of which at least 40 are men!) as they go from just being familiar with the songs in the medley to, “Wow, we sound awesome!”

The whole recording is a little less than an hour long and divided into 3 pieces because of the website’s limits on storage space. But even if you don’t listen all the way through, you can get a good idea of how magical the evening was. You have the option to download the files or to just “play” them…if you chose to listen for a bit, enjoy!

Part 1 of 3: http://www.box.net/shared/9j91k6duxm

Part 2 of 3: http://www.box.net/shared/ekr1hq9r4v

Part 3 of 3: http://www.box.net/shared/e79vvlx84r

I’m in a happy place for my singing again. Yay!

