How many people get to say that they were in a flash mob? Nope, not many. You have to know the right people, be available to be in the right place at the right time, you name it. Please allow me to toot my own horn for a moment…I was involved in not one but TWO flash months in the course of five weeks!

The first one was set up on, of all places, Facebook. Yep, that love-it-or-lump-it bastion of making new “friends,” re-meeting old friends, stalking and ever-decreasing privacy. It was set up by some people who, as I understand it, wanted to do a flash mob to celebrate tourism in Central Florida (um, HELLO, have you SEEN the lines for The Wizarding World of Harry Potter? That’s cause for a celebration right there!). So they started a Facebook Group late last year, threw out a late January date to perform it and got something like 1200 or 1400 people who said they were interested. Of course, after rehearsals started (3 days’ worth, to learn some relatively simple choreography to go with the 4-minute pre-recorded song that we sang/lip-synched with a local a capella group called 42Five), the group of interested people shrunk considerably – the “official” count was said to be 750 but I think it was closer to 400 or so. But even so – to get that many strangers together at a local mall (many with little to no coordination – hand raised on that!) and do (roughly) the same thing at the same time was quite an accomplishment and as one of the participants, I definitely can say that I had a BLAST! Here’s a YouTube video of the event – if you want to see me, I’m in the upper left quadrant but kind of close to the center, really short lady with gray hair, wearing blue shorts.

As of this writing  the video has just over 60,000 views – it doesn’t really qualify for viral but the goal was 50K so I think we’re good. A bunch of naysayers said it wasn’t truly a “flash mob” because we didn’t surprise anyone (The element of surprise was never a part of this event. In fact, not only were several local TV stations contacted to film us, we were told to tell as many friends and family members as we wanted about the when and where) but according to definition, a “flash mob” doesn’t have to include the element of surprise – it’s just a group of people who do a planned “something” and when they’re done, they scatter as if nothing ever happened. Shrug, I don’t care – surprise or not, it was a LOT of fun to do and apparently the same promoters are planning to stage another flash mob, somewhere (dunno where yet), in early April. I plan on being involved in that one too if I can, so watch this spot for a report on that.

But meanwhile, before that even happens, my experience with flash mobs got to be even better because I got to do one with my new choir! I’ve written all about THAT experience here.

